Have you been charged with a DWI
Scott Reilly has defended thousands of DWI cases in his career. A DWI charge is serious, but it doesn't mean you are going to jail. We know you will be concerned about the serious penalties such as potential loss of license, jail time, alcohol classes and the effect this may have on your insurance premiums or employment. We can address these issues and all questions you have, and we can discuss the possible consequences of a conviction.
Cost of a North Carolina DWI
- $100 processing fee for pre-trial limited driving privilege (G.S. 20-20.2).
- $100 for return of revoked license (G.S. 20-16.5(j)).
- $1,500 - $5,000 in attorney fees.
- $100 fine (assuming the lowest punishment for a Level 5 DWI)
- $290 court costs
- $480 probation fees (G.S. 15A-1343(c1)
- 24 hours of community service.
- $250 community service fee (G.S. 143B-708(c)).
- $100 for a substance abuse assesment. Here's a link to one provider.
- $160 for alcohol treatment as a result of the assesment.
- $100 for a post conviction limited driving privilege. (G.S. 20-20.2)
- $100 license restoration fee (G.S. 20-7(i1)).
- $2,000 to $4,000 in increased insurance premiums over the next three years.
Most people who have been charged with a DWI are subject to spending a minimum of $5,000 to $10,000. These numbers are based on the previous bulleted list above. These are also based on assuming that a client gets charged with a lower end DWI. If you have been charged with a higher DWI those numbers will increase dramatically.
These cost can be minimized if you have a strong defense attorney representing you. For residents of Hickory, Maiden, Newton and Conover; Scott Reilly is the attorney for you.
NC DMV Driving Record Request Page
Use this link to order a copy of your North Carolina driving record
NC Court Date Confirmation
NC Administrative Office of the Court resource for confirming district and superior court dates